Overview Yacht Projects

Interior yacht furnishings by Deutsche Werkstätten

Completion 2014

Photos

Sometimes new ideas come from first falling flat on your face. Because struggling back to one’s feet again is always accompanied by a questioning of one’s previously held principles. Or the exploring of new options to help get back into the running.

The Deutsche Werkstätten made this experience in 1998. News of a commission that certainly seemed to represent a solid medium-term future made the rounds of our company a good full year beforehand: The Deutsche Werkstätten was awarded the design development work on a “business train” for the national Deutsche Bahn five years after the company’s denationalisation. The “Metropolitan” was to operate non-stop between Cologne and the Hanseatic city of Hamburg as competition to Lufthansa’s Business Class. Great idea, but terrible timing. Because low-cost flights came into vogue right at that time and Deutsche Bahn soon had to jettison its Metropolitan plans. Instead of the 50 trains as expected, the workshops developed just two. Once we got over the initial shock came the reflections. “What have we learned from this project?” The answer was quick and keen: With the Metropolitan, the Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau had ventured into the designing of mobile spaces. And had gained valuable experience in terms of the use of materials, factoring in space requirements, safety standards and the challenges of new technological solutions. 

It wasn’t too great of a leap from the interior furnishing of trains to the interior furnishing of yachts. After approaching various German shipyards, the workshop was given its first small order from Lürssen Werft. The final result was so well-received that the Hellerau workshop ended up with a foot in the door into the world of exclusive yacht interiors. Since 1998, interiors for 18 megayachts have been manufactured in Hellerau, even the ones of the now longest yacht worldwide. The Deutsche Werkstätten has meanwhile become one of the world’s market leaders in this very exclusive niche segment. And continues to grow. All thanks to the Deutsche Bahn!

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Photo: Deutsche Werkstätten

Überblick Yachtprojekte

Yachtinnenausbau

bei den Deutschen Werkstätten

Fertigstellung 2014

Fotos

Manchmal muss man erst einmal auf die Nase fallen, um auf eine neue Idee zu kommen. Weil das sich Aufrappeln einhergeht mit dem in Frage stellen von bis dato gültigen Grundsätzen. Oder dem Ausloten von neuen Möglichkeiten, die einem wieder auf die Beine helfen.

Diese Erfahrung haben die Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau 1998 gemacht. Ein gutes Jahr zuvor war ein Auftrag ins Haus geflattert, der mittelfristig eine sichere Zukunftsperspektive darzustellen schien: Die Deutschen Werkstätten wurden fünf Jahre nach der Reprivatisierung des Unternehmens mit dem Ausbau eines „Businesszugs“ der Deutschen Bahn beauftragt. Der „Metropolitan“ sollte zwischen Köln und der Hansestadt Hamburg ohne Zwischenstopp verkehren und der Business Class der Lufthansa Konkurrenz machen. Gut gedacht, aber schlecht getimt. Denn zur gleichen Zeit kamen die Billigflieger in Mode, und die Bahn musste den Metropolitan relativ bald einstellen. Statt wie erhofft 50 Züge bauten die Werkstätten gerade einmal zwei aus. Als der erste Schreck überwunden war, startete das Nachdenken. „Was haben wir aus diesem Projekt gelernt?“ Die Antwort war rasch gefunden: Die Deutschen Werkstätten hatten sich mit dem Metropolitan an den Ausbau von mobilen Räumen gewagt. Und wertvolle Erfahrungen gesammelt, was die Verwendung von Materialien, die Berücksichtigung von Platzvorgaben, Sicherheitsstandards und die Herausforderungen bezüglich neuer technologischer Lösungen betraf.

Vom Ausbau von Zügen war der Schritt zum Ausbau von Yachten nicht allzu weit. Nach der Vorstellung bei diversen Werften in Deutschland beauftragte die Fr. Lürssen Werft die Werkstätten mit einem ersten, kleineren Auftrag. Das Ergebnis fiel so positiv aus, dass es weiterging. Seit 1998 sind die Räumlichkeiten von 18 Megayachten in der Hellerauer Fertigung entstanden, zuletzt die der nun mit 180 Meter längsten Yacht der Welt. Die Deutschen Werkstätten sind mittlerweile einer der weltweiten Marktführer dieses Nischensegments. Und das Geschäft wächst weiter. Der Deutschen Bahn sei Dank!

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Foto: Deutsche Werkstätten