The quest for the perfect veneer

MY "Abdul Aziz"

Completion 2001

Photos

Built in England in 1984, the 147 meter (482 feet) long Abdul Aziz superyacht underwent a complete overhaul in 2001. The Deutsche Werkstätten was involved in the work of refitting the owner’s deck. Since all the remodelling had to be done within just four months, there were four interior fitters commissioned to work on just the owner’s deck alone. Over the course of the project, DWH sent eleven carpenters to the shipyard in Greece to ensure its just-in-time delivery.

Among the work assigned to the Deutsche Werkstätten was the owner‘s living area, sleeping quarters, bathroom and dressing room. Apart from its precision carpentry work, DWH also had to strip and document the original interior installations and then re-integrate existing components such as the housing technology.

Sourcing the owner’s desired veneer posed a special challenge all its own. The original design made use of Wengé. The owner now wanted to replace this very dark wood with yew wood. Yew trees have a great many branches and yet the veneer in the owner’s private quarters was to have the appearance of as few branches as possible. And thus the Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau set off on its quest for veneer to meet this requirement. While in Berlin, the DWH project manager not only found the trunk of an 800-year-old yew tree from England which was absolutely perfect, but also managed to convince the veneer dealer to part with his long-hoarded treasure for the Abdul Aziz.

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Photo: Lawrence Dalli | SuperYachtPhoto.com

Die Suche nach dem perfekten Furnier

MY "Abdul Aziz"

Fertigstellung 2001

Fotos

1984 in England gebaut, erhielt die 147 Meter lange Superyacht Abdul Aziz im Jahr 2001 eine Generalüberholung. Die Deutschen Werkstätten waren am Refit des Owner’s Deck beteiligt. Da für den Umbau nur vier Monate zur Verfügung standen, arbeiteten gleichzeitig vier Innenausbauer alleine auf dem Owner’s Deck. Bis zu elf Tischler schickten die Deutschen Werkstätten zur Werft nach Griechenland, um das Projekt just in time zu übergeben.

Das Wohnzimmer, das Schlafgemach, das Bad und die Ankleide des Eigners zählten zu den Aufgaben der Deutschen Werkstätten. Neben den feinen Tischlerarbeiten mussten sich die Deutschen Werkstätten um die Demontage der originalen Inneneinbauten, deren Dokumentation sowie die Integration vorhandener Teile wie beispielsweise der Haustechnik kümmern.

Eine besondere Herausforderung stellte die Beschaffung des gewünschten Furniers dar. Der ursprüngliche Entwurf hatte Wenge vorgesehen. Auf Wunsch des Eigners wurde dieses sehr dunkle Holz gegen Eibe ausgetauscht. Die Eibe ist eine Baumart mit vielen Ästen; das Furnierbild in den privaten Räumen des Eigners sollte jedoch so astfrei wie möglich sein. Die Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau machten sich daher auf die Suche nach Furnier, das dieser Anforderung entsprach. In Berlin stieß der Projektleiter auf einen 800 Jahre alten Eibenstamm aus England, der perfekt war.  Und schaffte es, den Furnierhändler davon zu überzeugen, sich für die Abdul Aziz von seinem über viele Jahre wohl gehüteten Schatz zu trennen.

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Foto: Lawrence Dalli | SuperYachtPhoto.com