Metropolitan

Construction, coordination and interior fittings

Completion 1998

Photos

Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau was commissioned with the interior design of the “Metropolitan” train by the Deutsche Bahn AG (national railway) and the general contractor, Fahrzeugtechnik Dessau GmbH. The “Metropolitan” raises the bar in terms of comfort, service and design for passenger traffic. Travellers enjoy an ambience wholly unexpected from a train. The design for the new train came from gmp, the architectural firm of Gerkan, Marg and Partner, Hamburg. gmp placed great emphasis on high-quality materials: stainless steel, black leather, Swiss pear wood. This wood, a very sophisticated material, is prized for its subtle warm and honey-yellow tint. Highly complex structural elements were produced at Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau for the interior outfitting of the “Metropolitan”. Wooden material in railroad car construction? Initially, the experts expressed their utter scepticism. Mainly because solid wood was simply not an option, at the very least because of fire safety regulations. Yet our employees worked out suitable base materials which were then veneered.
Strict safety regulations apply to the interior furnishings of railroad cars. For instance, all components must be able to withstand five times the acceleration due to gravity. Forms and structures should eliminate any risk of injury entirely – a major difference to “normal” furniture, as the Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau would soon discover. Interior fittings also have to be created in such fashion so as to dramatically cushion vibrations. A great many technical requirements had to be incorporated into the constructional work.
gmp came up with an interesting concept for the “Metropolitan” lighting: illuminating the internal contours of the railroad cars as reflecting surfaces. Individual reading lamps provide additional sources of light. From the moulded seats to the vestibule areas – Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau guaranteed a coordinated veneer design throughout the entire interior. This was the reason why the veneer finish was so deliberately made from Swiss pear wood. A special lacquer was custom developed for the “Metropolitan” in close collaboration with a varnish manufacturer to yield scratch-resistant surfaces.
Stability, durability and fire safety – due to the requirements set forth by the railway, the complications facing the natural materials were quite high. But, of course, the Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau specialists were well able to take the drafts and designs from gmp and the material specifications from the architects and turn them into stunning reality. Today, the “Metropolitan” is the moving proof for the applicability of wood materials on high-speed trains.

Text: Anke Müller
Photo: PR

Metropolitan

Konstruktion, Koordination und Innenausbau

Fertigstellung 1998

Fotos

Mit dem Innenausbau des Zuges „Metropolitan“ wurden die Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau von der Deutschen Bahn AG und vom Generalunternehmer Fahrzeugtechnik Dessau GmbH beauftragt. Der „Metropolitan“ setzte Maßstäbe bei Komfort, Service und Design im Reiseverkehr. Der Nutzer darf sich auf ein Ambiente freuen, wie er es von „der Bahn“ nie erwartet hätte. Das Design des neuen Zuges entwarf das Architektenbüro gmp von Gerkan, Marg und Partner, Hamburg. gmp setzt auf hochwertige Werkstoffe: Edelstahl, schwarzes Leder, Schweizer Birnbaum. Dieses Holz, ein sehr anspruchsvolles Material, zeichnet sich durch seinen dezent honiggelben, warmen Farbton aus. Für den Innenausbau des „Metropolitan“ entstehen in den Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau sehr komplexe Bauteile. Holzwerkstoffe im Waggonbau? Die Experten waren zunächst ausgesprochen skeptisch.  Denn schon aufgrund der Anforderungen an den Brandschutz kann kein massives Holz verarbeitet werden. Unseren Mitarbeitern ist es gelungen, geeignete Trägerwerkstoffe zu finden, die furniert werden.
Strenge Sicherheitsbestimmungen gelten für die Innenausstattung von Eisenbahnwaggons. So müssen alle Baugruppen dem Fünffachen der Erdbeschleunigung standhalten. Formen und Konstruktionen sollen jedes Verletzungsrisiko ausschließen – ein großer Unterschied zu „normalen“ Möbeln, wie die Entwickler der Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau bald feststellen mussten. Außerdem galt es, die Inneneinrichtung so zu gestalten, dass Schwingungen spürbar gedämpft werden. Viele technische Ansprüche, die in die konstruktive Arbeit einfließen mussten.
Für den „Metropolitan“ entwickelte gmp ein interessantes Beleuchtungskonzept: Die Innenkonturen der Waggons werden als reflektierende Fläche angestrahlt. Licht spenden zudem zusätzliche individuelle Leseleuchten. Vom Schalensitz bis zu den Vorraumzonen – die Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau garantierten eine abgestimmte Furnierstruktur im gesamten Innenraum. Mit großer Sorgfalt wurden deshalb die Furnierdecks aus Schweizer Birnbaum zusammengestellt. Eine Speziallackierung, extra für den „Metropolitan“ gemeinsam mit einem Lackhersteller entwickelt, sorgt für die Kratzfestigkeit der Oberflächen.
Stabilität, Strapazierfähigkeit und Brandschutz – aufgrund der Anforderungen durch den Bahnbetrieb war die Hürde für natürliche Werkstoffe recht hoch. Dennoch gelang es den Mitarbeitern der Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau, die Entwürfe von gmp und die Materialvorgaben der Architekten umzusetzen. Der „Metropolitan“ ist der rollende Beweis für die Bahntauglichkeit von Holzwerkstoffen in Hochgeschwindigkeitsfahrzeugen.

Text: Anke Müller
Foto: PR