Why it is so beautiful on the Rhine...

Marriott World Conference Hotel, Bonn

Completion 2016

Photos

If there’s one place connected to the post-war era of the Federal Republic, then it’s the birthplace of Ludwig van Beethoven, Bonn. The once sleepy town became an international political hot spot where not only the "Bonn Republic" as an expression of a new German democracy reinvented itself, but also where world politics took place. The appointment of Berlin as the capital of the re-united Germany and the related relocation of important administrative offices were connected with uncertainty. A loss of importance loomed. This was prevented by a clever resettlement and the restructuring of various international organizations. This includes, for example, the prioritisation or reinstallation of some sub-organizations and secretariats of the United Nations. In addition, in the future an increased number of United Nations conventions are to be held on the Rhine. Bonn has since then not become less important, but is rapidly becoming a much-used international venue as well as a multinational work place. The infrastructure of the city also contributes to this, some very sophisticated hotels have been built, e.g. the Kameha Grand. We were asked to take on the outfitting for this in the year 2009. The Kameha is oriented to meet the needs of an international and highly demanding clientele in every way. The same contractor also asked us to invest our energy in his new Bonn project, the hotel of the future "World Congress Center Bonn" (WCCB).

At that time, the outer shell of the WCCB had stood finished next to the Rhine for quite a few years. For a long time it was unclear who would take on the responsibility for this building. When the decision for an experienced investor was made, everything moved very quickly. In 2014, we got involved in the planning for the 336 rooms, 300 of which are in the standard version and 36 are suites, two of which are extremely luxurious presidential suites. In addition to this, there were also parts of the restaurant, public areas and meeting rooms as well as the reception and lounge areas. In 2014, we began the planning, in 2016, the finished result was handed over. The hotel's design reflects the decisive episodes of the Bonn Republic. Each group of floors are dedicated to a definite era, the then influential personalities are the themes of the levels. Even the small details in the rooms subtly refer to the fashion, art and culture of the time. The architect and designer Thomas Müller, Cologne, implemented the thematic connection wisely and moderately.

For the project we were responsible for everything from the execution planning to the handover of the finished rooms. This showed, once again, the ability of Deutsche Werkstätten to combine different areas of competence. Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau GmbH took on the design, manufacture and installation of fitted furnishings and bespoke furniture down to the complementary details such as interior textiles and wall coverings. Deutschen Werkstätten Lebensräume GmbH supplied loose furniture for large sections of the hotel with exclusively high-end products by renowned international manufacturers being used. This project shows the vast range of tasks the company is capable of. In addition to the luxurious interior outfitting of yachts and private residences, very sophisticated and challenging large-scale projects have been carried out successfully, also those which involve serial production. The quality requirements of the project play a prominent role. We do not do mediocrity. Only the top segment of hotels may benefit from the company's services. The appropriate coordination of various components is the key to success. Deutsche Werkstätten worked in Bonn with the support of international suppliers whose products were incorporated into the overall result. Now, the conference participants from around the world can look forward to an outstanding hotel that presents its high standards in the rooms confidently. This is another reason why "it is so beautiful on the Rhine", as the title of a German folk song goes.


Text: DWH
Photo: © Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel

Warum ist es am Rhein so schön…

Marriott World Conference Hotel, Bonn

Ausführungsplanung, Fertigung und Montage; lose Möblierung

Fertigstellung 2016

Fotos

Wenn ein Ort mit der Nachkriegsära der Bundesrepublik verbunden ist, dann die Geburtsstadt Ludwig van Beethovens, Bonn. Das ehemals verschlafene Städtchen avancierte zu einem internationalen politischen Hotspot, in dem sich nicht nur die „Bonner Republik“ als Ausdruck einer neuen deutschen Demokratie neu erfand, sondern auch Weltpolitik gemacht wurde. Mit Ernennung Berlins zur gesamtdeutschen Hauptstadt und dem damit verbundenen Wegzug wichtiger Verwaltungseinheiten waren Unsicherheiten verbunden. Ein Bedeutungsverlust drohte. Durch eine geschickte Ansiedlung und die Aufwertung diverser internationaler Organisationen konnte das verhindert werden. Dazu zählt zum Beispiel die stärkere Gewichtung bzw. Neuinstallation einiger Unterorganisationen und Sekretariate der Vereinten Nationen. Außerdem sollen in Zukunft verstärkt Kongresse der Vereinten Nationen am Rhein abgehalten werden. Bonn hat seitdem nicht an Bedeutung verloren, sondern avanciert gerade neben einem multinationalen Arbeits- zu einem gern genutzten internationalen Tagungsort. Auch die Infrastruktur der Stadt trägt dem Rechnung, einige sehr anspruchsvolle Hotels wurden seitdem gebaut, z.B. das Kameha Grand. Wir durften im Jahr 2009 dessen Ausbau übernehmen. Das Kameha ist in jedem Winkel auf die Bedürfnisse eines internationalen und äußerst anspruchsvollen Publikums ausgerichtet. Der gleiche Auftraggeber wie damals bat uns, unsere Kräfte in sein neues Bonner Projekt einfließen zu lassen, das künftige Hotel des „World Congress Center Bonn“ (WCCB).

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt stand die äußere Hülle des WCCB schon einige Jahre als fertiger Rohbau neben dem Rhein. Lange Zeit war unklar, wer sich dieses Gebäudes annimmt. Mit dem Zuschlag für einen erfahrenen Investor ging dann alles sehr schnell. Wir traten 2014 in die Planung für die 336 Zimmer ein, 300 davon in der Standardausführung und 36 als Suiten, zwei davon sind die äußerst luxuriösen Präsidentensuiten. Hinzu kamen noch Teile der Restaurants, der öffentlichen und Tagungsräume sowie der Empfangs- und Aufenthaltsbereiche. 2014 begannen wir mit den Planungen, 2016 wurden die Arbeiten übergeben. Das Design des Hotels spiegelt die bestimmenden Episoden der Bonner Republik. Jeweils mehrere Etagen sind einer Ära gewidmet, die damals prägenden Persönlichkeiten werden zu Leitthemen der Ebenen. Auch die kleinen Details in den Räumen verweisen hintergründig auf Mode, Kunst und Kultur der jeweiligen Zeit. Der Architekt und Designer Thomas Müller, Köln, hat die thematische Anbindung klug und wohldosiert umgesetzt.

Wir betreuten im Projekt das gesamte Spektrum von der Ausführungsplanung bis zur Übergabe der fertigen Räume. Wieder einmal zeigte sich die Stärke der Deutschen Werkstätten, verschiedene Kompetenzbereiche verknüpfen zu können. Die Deutschen Werkstätten Hellerau GmbH übernahmen die Planung, Fertigung und die Montage der festen Einbauten und Sondermöbel bis hin zu ergänzenden Elementen wie Zimmertextilien und Wandverkleidungen. Die Deutschen Werkstätten Lebensräume GmbH lieferten für weite Teile des Hotels das bewegliche Mobiliar, wobei ausschließlich hochwertige Erzeugnisse internationaler namhafter Hersteller zum Einsatz kamen. An diesem Projekt lässt sich ablesen, wie weit gespannt die möglichen Aufgabenbereiche des Unternehmens sind. Neben dem Luxus- Innenausbau von Yachten und Residenzen können auch sehr gute und anspruchsvolle große Projekte betreut werden, die einen Anteil Serienfertigung aufweisen. Dabei spielen die Qualitätsansprüche des Projekts eine herausragende Rolle. Mittelmaß geht nicht. Nur das Spitzensegment der Hotels kann das Angebot des Unternehmens ausnutzen. Die sinnvolle Koordinierung verschiedener Bausteine ist hier der Schlüssel zum Erfolg. Die Deutschen Werkstätten arbeiteten in Bonn z.B. mit Unterstützung internationaler Zulieferer, deren Produkte in das Gesamtergebnis einflossen. Jetzt können sich die Tagungsteilnehmer aus aller Welt auf ein hervorragendes Hotel freuen, das seinen hohen Anspruch in seinen Räumen selbstbewusst präsentiert. Auch darum „ist es am Rhein so schön“.

Text: DWH
Foto: © Bonn Marriott World Conference Hotel