A Saxonian Highlight in Prussian Splendour

Landtag Brandenburg, Potsdam

Deutsche Werkstätten's Scope of Service:
Interior outfitting, loose furniture

Completion 2014

Photos

Since the beginning of 2014, the inhabitants of Potsdam have had their urban centre back. Since 1960, everyone who came from the Central Station have been met with - as it was described in the newspaper the Süddeutsche Zeitung - an "oppressive emptiness surrounded by sometimes beautiful and often less beautiful buildings". Since the bombing on the night of April 12, 1945 all that was left of the old City Palace was a ruin. The remains were demolished in 1960 on the instructions of the SED (Social Unity Party) leadership. Since 2010, under the direction of the architect Peter Kulka the City Palace has been reconstructed. From the outside, there is nothing that reminds you of a new building. The layout and the facade are inspired by the old forms for one thing. Another thing is that historical parts have been integrated into the new building. On the inside, however, the Brandenburg parliament is a modern building. And Deutsche Werkstätten has contributed to this.

In 1993 relatively soon after the re-privatization of Deutsche Werkstätten, the company contributed to the refurbishment of the Saxon Parliament in Dresden under Peter Kulka and again, 20 years later, we were involved in the work on the Brandenburg State Parliament. This commission was a nice interplay between the sister companies Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau and Deutsche Werkstätten Lebensräume, our trading division. The two organizational entities formed a joint project team for this project which was responsible for one of the parts of the interior outfitting. Hence all staff and members of the parliament store their paperwork in fitted furniture produced by Deutsche Werkstätten. At the entrance of the building as well as in two other places in the public area there are counters from Hellerau. The handrails and balustrade panels of the two public staircases to the right and left of the Chamber were fabricated by us as well as the acoustic walls in the meeting rooms and at the heart of the parliament, the Chamber itself.

In the Chamber, as well as in much of the rest of the building, the (monastic) state colours of white, silver and red dominate. The red comes into play primarily through the "Vitra" furniture; in the Chamber alone, there are 120 chairs of the design classic "Alu Chair". In addition to this, we delivered 455 chairs for the staff offices, lounge furniture for the lobbies and tables and chairs for the cafeteria on the top floor of the parliament building.

 

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Photo: Hans-Christian Schink

Sachsens Glanz in Preußens Gloria

Landtag Brandenburg, Potsdam

Leistungen Deutsche Werkstätten:
Innenausbau, lose Möblierung

Fertigstellung 2014

Fotos

Seit Anfang des Jahres 2014 haben die Potsdamer ihre städtebauliche Mitte zurück. Seit 1960 traf jeder, der vom Hauptbahnhof kam, auf eine, wie es die Süddeutsche Zeitung nannte, „beklemmende Leere, die von einem Nebeneinander manchmal schöner und oft weniger schöner Gebäude umstanden war“. Seit der Bombennacht vom 12. April 1945 war vom alten Stadtschloss nur noch eine Ruine übrig. Die Überbleibsel wurden 1960 auf Weisung der SED-Führung abgerissen. Seit 2010 entstand unter der Regie des Architekten Peter Kulka der Neubau des Stadtschlosses. Von außen betrachtet erinnert nichts an einen Neubau. Der Grundriss und auch die Fassade greifen zum einen die alten Formen auf. Zum anderen wurde historische Substanz integriert. Innen aber ist der Landtag Brandenburg ein hochmodernes Gebäude. Dazu haben auch die Deutschen Werkstätten beigetragen.

Nachdem es 1993, relativ bald nach der Reprivatisierung der Deutschen Werkstätten, zum Ausbau des Sächsischen Landtags in Dresden unter Peter Kulka gekommen war, konnten wir uns nun 20 Jahre später auch im Brandenburger Landtag beteiligen. Dieser Auftrag war ein schönes Zusammenspiel der Schwesterngesellschaften Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau und Deutsche Werkstätten Lebensräume, unserem Handelsgeschäft. Beide Organisationseinheiten bildeten für dieses Projekt ein gemeinsames Projektteam, das zum einen für Teile des Innenausbaus verantwortlich zeichnete. So verstauen alle Abgeordneten und Mitarbeiter des Landtags ihre Unterlagen in Einbauschränken der Deutschen Werkstätten. Im Eingangsbereich des Gebäudes sowie an zwei weiteren Stellen im öffentlichen Raum stehen Tresen aus Hellerau. Die Handläufe und Brüstungsverkleidungen der beiden öffentlichen Treppenhäuser rechts und links des Plenarsaals wurden von uns gefertigt wie auch die Akustikwände in den Sitzungsräumen und im Herzstück des Landtags, dem Plenarsaal.

Im Plenarsaal wie auch in einem Großteil des übrigen Gebäudes dominieren die Landesfarben Weiß, Silber und Rot. Das Rot kommt dabei vor allem durch die Vitra-Möbel ins Spiel; allein im Plenarsaal sind es 120 Stühle des Designklassikers „Alu Chair“. Des Weiteren lieferten wir 455 Stühle für die Mitarbeiterbüros, Loungemöbel für die Foyers sowie Tische und Stühle für die Cafeteria im obersten Stockwerk des Landtagsgebäudes. 

 

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Foto: Hans-Christian Schink