Palatial floorboards still promote playfulness

Horus Capital, Museolobby, Moscow

Deutsche Werkstätten services:
Interior furnishing, manufacture of freestanding furniture

Completion 2008

Photos

Almost exactly one hundred years ago Konstantin Sergeyevitch Stanislavsky had a stately brick building erected near the heart of Moscow to manufacture electrical cables, gold braiding and yarn. Yet Stanislavsky was not only a mercantilist, he was also devoted to acting and directing. He pursued these two interests until the 1930s, although he had to close his factory after the October Revolution of 1917.

The present owner of the building, Horus Capital, felt a certain tie to Stanislavsky’s life story as well as the history of the building itself. Horus Capital is a property developer and investment firm particularly active in the Russian capital with its headquarters now in Stanislavsky’s converted factory. One of the company’s avowed goals is developing properties which merge commercial space with cultural or historically-important public space and thus bestow added value on the respective building.

The Museolobby in the Stanislavsky factory is a model of this maxim. Not only is a theatre presently being created within the building complex but the future will also see a small but first-class museum detailing the building’s industrial history right in the middle of the lobby. The space adjoining the museum is a bi-level lounge area designed by British designers Casson Mann to exude an informal atmosphere. We created 13 coffee tables and sofas in a double-row arrangement for this area.

The coffee tables are made from grain-cut slabs of smoked acacia nine centimetres thick. Gluing the individual panels together at right angles results in a very striking domino-like appearance. The amorphous coffee tables rest atop a serpentine-like stainless steel frame as well as an additional stainless steel leg. The stainless steel construction continues through an opening in the wooden panels to a smaller and movable stainless steel plate positioned 15 centimetres above the actual tabletop and serving to hold food and drinks. The coffee table thus engages two levels and encourages playfulness from those sitting around it. Electrical connections for laptops are integrated underneath the tabletop.

The black lounging sofas of soft cowhide are the perfect invitation to extended lunch breaks. Each leather piece was individually cut and double-sewn together. These two-fold lockstitch seams as well as the 2,400 leather-covered nubs where they intersect lend these stylish sofas a look reminiscent of the “Barcelona Chair” from Mies van der Rohe. As opposed to the chair backs, the sofa seats do not extend to the narrow acoustically-treated partition walls adorned with lighting fixtures. The shelving space thereby gained – like the tabletops – are also made from smoked acacia.
 
The table/sofa combinations are ringed by materials firmly establishing a tie to the building’s precious metal-based history. The design firm brought this concept to life with bronze-coloured floor tiles, golden room dividers and silver lighting elements, their design calling to mind reels of yarn.  

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Photo: Frank Herfort

Spieltrieb an der Massivholzplatte

Horus Capital, Museolobby, Moskau

Leistungen Deutsche Werkstätten:
Innenausbau, Fertigung lose Möbel

Fertigstellung 2008

Fotos

Ziemlich genau hundert Jahre ist es her, dass Konstantin Sergejewitsch Stanislawski einen stattlichen Backsteinbau nahe der Moskauer Innenstadt errichten ließ, um dort elektrische Kabel, Garne und Goldfaden herstellen zu lassen. Stanislawski war jedoch nicht nur Unternehmer, sondern wirkte auch als  Schauspieler und Regisseur. Diesen beiden Tätigkeiten ging er  bis in die 1930er Jahre nach. Seine Fabrik hingegen musste er nach der Oktoberrevolution 1917 schließen.

Der Lebensgeschichte Stanislawskis sowie der Historie des Gebäudes fühlt sich der heutige Inhaber Horus Capital verpflichtet. Horus Capital ist ein Immobilienfinanzierer und -entwickler für Gewerbeflächen, der vor allem in der russischen Hauptstadt aktiv ist und sein Headquarters in der umgebauten Stanislawski-Fabrik bezogen hat. Erklärtes Ziel von Horus ist es, Immobilien so zu entwickeln, dass die gewerbliche Nutzfläche mit kulturell bzw. historisch aufgeladener öffentlicher Fläche verbunden und dem jeweiligen Gebäude somit ein Mehrwert verliehen wird.

Dieser Maxime entspricht die Museolobby in der Stanislawski-Fabrik. Zum einen entsteht im Gebäudekomplex zurzeit ein Theater. Zum anderen wird in der Mitte der Lobby zukünftig ein kleines, aber feines Museum über die industrielle Historie des Gebäudes Auskunft geben. Die an das Museum angrenzende Fläche ist ein in loungiger Atmosphäre vom britischen Designbüro Casson Mann entworfenes zweigeschossiges Cateringareal. Für dieses Areal haben wir 13 Kaffeetische sowie Sofas angefertigt, die in zwei Reihen hintereinander angeordnet sind.

Die Kaffeetische sind aus neun Zentimeter dicken Hirnholzplatten aus geräucherter Akazie gefertigt. Durch die senkrechte Verleimung einzelner Leisten Hirnholz entsteht eine sehr markante Oberfläche in Domino-Optik. Die Form der Kaffeetische ist amorph. Getragen werden sie von einem mäanderförmigen Edelstahlgestell sowie einem zusätzlichen Edelstahlbein. Die Edelstahlkonstruktion setzt sich über einen Spalt in der Holzplatte zu einer kleineren Edelstahlplatte fort, die 15 Zentimeter über der eigentlichen Tischplatte zum Abstellen von Speisen und Getränken dient und beweglich ist. Der Kaffeetisch arbeitet also mit zwei Ebenen und fordert den Spieltrieb des an ihm Sitzenden heraus. Die Tischplatten sind an der Unterseite mit elektrischen Anschlüssen für Laptops versehen.

Die schwarzen Lesersofas aus weichem Rindsleder laden zu einer ausgedehnten Mittagspause ein. Jedes Lederfeld wurde separat zugeschnitten und doppelt miteinander vernäht. Durch diese doppelten Steppnähte sowie die 2.400 lederbezogenen Knöpfe im Kreuzungspunkt erhalten die stilvollen Sofas ihren dem ‚Barcelona Chair’ von Mies van der Rohe angelehnten Look. Die Sitzflächen der Sofas führen im Gegensatz zur Rückenlehne nicht bis an die mit Akustikstoff bezogenen und mit Leuchten versehenen schmalen Trennwände heran. Die dadurch gewonnenen Ablageflächen bestehen - analog zu den Tischplatten - aus geräucherter Akazie.

Text: Deutsche Werkstätten
Foto: Frank Herfort