Hellerau

Chronology
There are not many German companies which can claim a history so reflective of the economic and political development of Germany in the 20th century as Deutsche Werkstätten Hellerau, Dresden. A history rife with euphoria, realisations, dreams, adversities – and many pioneering innovations. All this and more since 1898 – a retrospective as reviewed in a basic chronology of the company.
READ MORE

Ideas
The Hellerau myth, growing since the early 20th century, has many different facets. Recurring themes are goals, ideas, ambitions, concepts which have stood the test of time for more than a century even while undergoing transformation. The ideas born in the company have actually influenced the very direction of the company. And have gone on from there to have far greater impact. 
READ MORE

People
At the turn of the 20th century, company founder Schmidt had utterly singular ideas on the role and task of artists with respect to commercial art. Right from the start he wanted to work with only the best and to charter new courses. And with the outstanding architects we work with, the workshops continue to be just as fortunate today. A true partnership for only through open dialogue can all strengths be marshalled in the sense of the end result.
READ MORE

Location
Hellerau. A community on the outskirts of Dresden. Today, the flagships of modern technology have anchored here: Infineon, Globalfoundries, numerous smaller innovative enterprises. It’s almost as if there is a special atmosphere out here encouraging the forging of the future and turning visions into reality.
A view of Hellerau and its history gives you an idea of just how energising the atmosphere is here. 
READ MORE

Hellerau

Chronologie
Es gibt nicht viele Unternehmen in Deutschland, an deren Geschichte sich die wirtschaftliche und politische Entwicklung Deutschlands im 20. Jahrhundert so anschaulich studieren lässt wie an den Deutschen Werkstätten in Dresden. Es gab Utopien, Realisierungen, Schwierigkeiten und viele wegweisende Innovationen. All dies passierte seit 1898 und wird schon an der Chronologie des Unternehmens deutlich.
MEHR

Ideen
Der Mythos Hellerau, wie er sich seit Beginn des 20. Jahrhunderts gebildet hat, hat unterschiedliche Facetten. Es finden sich Ziele, Gedanken, Ambitionen, Begriffe, die mehr als ein Jahrhundert lebendig überdauerten, die Transformationen erfuhren, immer wiederkehrten. Die im Unternehmen gewachsenen Ideen haben ihren ganz eigenen Einfluss auf die Geschichte des Unternehmens genommen. Und sind weit darüber hinaus wirksam geworden. 
MEHR

Menschen
Von der Rolle und Aufgabe der Künstler im Rahmen kunstgewerblicher Arbeit hatte der Unternehmensgründer Karl Schmidt Anfang des 20. Jahrhunderts völlig neue, ungewöhnliche Vorstellungen. Von Beginn an wollte er die Besten nach Hellerau holen und ganz neue Wege beschreiten. Auch heute arbeiten die Werkstätten mit hervorragenden Architekten und Designern zusammen. Partnerschaftlich, im Dialog.
MEHR

Standort
Hellerau. Ein Stadtteil am Rand Dresdens. Heute sind in der Umgebung die Flaggschiffe der Hochtechnologie vor Anker gegangen: Infineon, AMD, viele kleinere innovative Unternehmen. Es scheint so, als gäbe es hier eine besondere Atmosphäre, in der Zukunft gebaut und Visionen verwirklicht werden können. Ein Blick auf Hellerau und seine Geschichte lässt erahnen, wie anregend die Atmosphäre des Ortes ist. 
MEHR